FATIMA MATA NATIONAL COLLEGE

AUTONOMOUS

(Reaccredited with 'A' Grade by NAAC)
Affiliated to University of Kerala



DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING HELD ON 19-01-2019

IQACINTERNAL QUALITY
ASSURANCE CELL

	DATE
	Board of Studies Heeting: 19/01/19.
	Members Present
1.	Dr Anjana Shankal - Soce Sankerra College, Kalady Xx
۵.	Dr Anjana Shankal - Soce Sankerra College, Kalady XXIII
3.	Dy Ashley Susan Philip, Man Thoma College Threnvalla Ashley Philip
4.	Dr Ashley Susan Philip, Man Thoma College, Threnvaka Ashenythiep Dr Pradap 5 k J'N. Collye, Kallan Noty
5.	Dr Jaya Thekkay an. fays
6.	My Ayappan Balan
7.	Dr cynthia C Hickey Centhial
8.	Dr Paruathy s Parus
	To Sugrice of Supra
IG	Dr Clara B Respone 124
11.	Dr Stani laus S Stanty
/2.	Dr Manoj s
13.	Dr Hercy Janua de
)4.	Ms Jaya Suray Joy
15.	Mr Tomson Thomas Sur

FATIMA MATA NATIONAL COLLEGE, KOLLAM

Department of English

PG Board of studies 19/10/2019

Agenda:

- · Silent Prayer.
- Welcome
- Presidential Remarks
- Paper wise Discussion
- · Vote of thanks

FATIMA MATA NATIONAL COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS), KOLLAM

Department of English PG Board of Studies 19/10/2019

The following members attended the Board of studies meeting which commenced at 10a.m

Sl.	Name of the Member	Official Address	Designation
No			
1	Dr Cynthia Catherine Michael	Associate Professor and HoD, Postgraduate and Research Department of English,FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Chairman
2	Dr Pratap S. K.	Associate Professor, Department of English, S. N. College, Kollam	Subject Expert
3	Dr Anjana Shankar S.	Associate Professor, Department of English, Sree Sankara College, Kalady	Subject Expert
4	Dr Ashley Susan Philip	Assistant Professor, Department of English, Mar Thoma College, Tiruvalla	Subject Expert
5	Dr Jaya Thekkayam	Former student and HoD, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Alumnus
6	Dr Parvathy S.	Associate Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Member
7	Dr Supriya M.	Associate Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Member
8	Dr Clara Bernadette Reshma	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Member
9	Mr Stancilaus S.	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, EMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	·
10	Dr Manoj S.	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	
11	Mr Christy Clement	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	Member

	12	Dr Y. Mercy Famila	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC (Autonomous), Kollam	
1	13	Ms Jaya Sunny	Assistant Professor, Postgraduate and Research Department of English, FMNC(Autinomous), Kollam	Member

The meeting commenced with a silent prayer. Dr Clara B Reshma welcomed the gathering. The HoD Dr. Cynthia Michael delivered the presidential address and briefed the members on the work done by the department in framing the PG syllabus. It was modeled on the Kerala University syllabus with new innovations that arose out of the deliberations in the department.

The Semester 1 papers decided on were as follows:

1.	From Middle English to the Eighteenth Century	:6 hours
	Shakespeare Studies	:6 hours
	Romantics and Victorians	:6 hours
	From Modernism to the Present	:7 hours

Each paper was discussed in detail. In the Shakespeare paper it was decided to include New readings of Shakespeare, adaptation Theory and modern adaptations of Shakespeare. In paper 3 Romantics and Victorians it was suggested to add women poets and include one more historical novel and an additional non detailed Drama. There were suggestions to include contemporary novels and essays in Paper 4 From Modernism to the Present. Changes were made accordingly.

The Semester 2 papers decided on were as follows:

1.	Indian Writing In English	:6 hours
2.	American literature	:6 hours
3.	New Literatures	:6 hours
4.	Critical Studies I	:7 hours

In the Indian Literature paper it was suggested to include modern writers like Jeeth Thayil., Amitav Ghosh and Ananthamoorthi, a few more poems and an additional non detailed drama. In the American Literature there was a suggestion to include an essay by Robert Spiller and a few more poems, a native American poem included. In the New Literature paper, a new paper included very constructive suggestions were unanimously accepted as the paper included four diverse areas: Canadian, Australian, African and Caribbean Literature. The Critical Studies paper was accepted as it was and changes suggested were made in the other papers.

The Semester 3 papers decided on were as follows:

 Linguistics and Structure of English Language 	: 6 hours
2. Critical Studies II	: 7 hours
Electives	
3. Media Studies	: 6 hours
4. Women's Writing	: 6 hours

There were no changes made in the linguistics paper. In the Critical studies paper it was suggested to include an essay .The media studies paper was retained in Toto. A few suggestions

were made to bring in diversity and variety in the Women's Writing paper. All the necessary changes were made.

The Semester 4 Papers decided on were as follows:

Culture Studies : 7 hours
 English Language Teaching and Methodology : 6 hours
 Electives

3. European Fiction : 6 marks
4. Dalit Writing : 6 marks

The Culture Studies Paper of the Kerala University was retained without any changes. It was decided to include to a module on Research Methodology in English in the English Language Teaching Paper. In the European Fiction Paper there were suggestions to include the works of writers such as Emile Zola, Jose Saramango, Orhan Pamuk, Kafka and Calvino. The members of the Board of studies came to a unanimous decision to introduce Dalit Writing as one of the Electives. Changes suggested in all the papers were incorporated.

Comprehensive Paper

There was a detailed discussion regarding the Comprehensive Paper. It was decided to include two parts in the paper:

In the Section A, there would be fifty multiple choice questions carrying one mark each, based on the prescribed texts and core papers only.

In Section B there would be twenty five questions carrying two marks from the entire PG syllabus.

It was decided to incorporate the changes in the Comprehensive Paper for the MA (2018-2020) batch and MA (2019-2021) batch as well.

BA Self Financing:

A new add-on course on radio Journalism will be introduced for the 2019-2021 batch onwards.

The meeting ended with a Vote of Thanks by Dr S Parvathy who thanked all the board members, for their valuable contributions in framing the PG syllabus.

	DATE
	Pa Board of studies. 19/10/19
	Menhoss Passart
	Member Present
1-	Dr Anjana Shankar 32
3.	Dr Ashly Susan Philip. M.P. Why.
4.	For Jaya Theke ayam Daya
	Dr Cyathia CM Dr Parvathy s and
٦.	Dr Sypriya M
§ ·	Dr Clare & Restone of
9.	Prof Stancilous & Hant for Manoj s
10	Prof clairly of the
12.	Dr Mer cy familla to
13.	Drof Jaya Alex! Sunny for
14.	
叁	Jaga Sway
14 113	
	DIL 10, TO PAGE